Synesthesia – A Brief Documentary

When I was just starting off as a poet, sending my work out to small presses, I had the pleasure of conversing with an editor who took the time to really work with me on a poem.  He told me he thought I had synesthesia.  I had never heard of this thing, whatever it was, and it still boggles my mind how he was able to see it in my work, but as I began to research this condition, I learned he was right.

I’d always thought that everyone thought the way I did, that they made the same associations I did between different stimuli or art.  I have always associated colors and sometimes tastes or aromas with words, numbers, and music.  It turns out that I’m a synesthete, someone with synethesia.  Scientists don’t fully understand it, but they think it has something to do with the sense receptors and the perception of stimuli somehow becoming crossed in the brain.  Below is a short documentary on this rare condition.  The synesthesia that the man in the film has is relatively similar to my own although not entirely so.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

