Heartbreaking Results of War

I stumbled across a photograph that looked intriguing. Upon closer examination, I saw that it was tied to a story that has been making the rounds online: the heartbreaking story of a deceased Marine’s wife who had refused to leave her husbands casket, insisting that she be able to sleep beside him one last time. Many may have already seen this photo and know how painful this is.

Personally, I’ve never been close to anyone who hasn’t come back from a war, but I can’t imagine the horror of that kind of news. After feeling powerful pangs of sympathy for this woman who has just lost the love of her life, I couldn’t help but feel there is no better example of the wastefulness of war than this tragic story.

I understand that a nation must protect themselves from other aggressive nations, but there is truly no excuse for invading another country to make war. It seems that the Western European countries have long understood that international warfare is the least effective (and most expensive) means of reconciling conflict. Unfortunately, and I use that term with irony, the United States is one of the few remaining Western countries who still sees violence as a means by which resolutions can be reached.

Although most reasonable people would unabashedly say that violence between people is completely inappropriate, many of those same people support international warfare. To those people, I ask: what’s the difference?

I don’t want to be misunderstood as not supporting American troops. I feel that I support American troops, and the troops of other nations as well, more than most Americans in that I don’t feel they need to put their lives at risk every day in wars they have no stake in. The current wars in which the United States is involved represent the interests of the wealthiest industrialists and bureaucrats. I would be willing to wager that beyond some basic cultural differences, the young men and women killing one another overseas have more in common than the plutocrats and politicians that have arranged for them to be there.

As many Americans have, I urge others to speak up against the war. There’s a far better way to solve our problems than sending our young people to die.

You can read the full story HERE. The article is called “The True Cost of Freedom,” but I feel that title is misleading. I’ll let you make up your own mind about that one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heartbreaking Results of War

  1. Debbie says:

    Very powerful post.

Leave a Reply

