My First Published Piece

Out of sheer excitement, I’d like to share my first published poem.  It’s been published by a literary magazine which publishes both online and in print editions, Indigo Rising Magazine

Update:  Unfortunately, it is no longer available online.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My First Published Piece

  1. Classic says:

    Congratulations on your first published piece!! You’ve certainly got some talent!

  2. Cody Deitz says:

    Thank you very much!

  3. thinkASAP says:

    I don’t usually care for poetry, but I really like this one. Great work Cody, and congrats!

  4. Colin Hutton says:

    Cody, Hi! It does have something. However, somebody needs to say it and it may as well be me : you don’t mean ‘preclude’. Portend, perhaps; or presage. But not preclude.
    Colin

    • Cody Deitz says:

      I meant preclude. With all due respect, why do you presume to know what my intentions were? Preclude as in to put off, to hinder. I understand that it sounds like preclude is being used as “that which comes before.” This was also intentional.

      • Colin Hutton says:

        I will allow that I should probably have said no more than that I didn’t like the word. I still don’t.

        Your blog, in its previous incarnation, sang the praises of pipe smoking. I last smoked one at university 40 years ago. Anyway, I paid attention, tried it again and am now converted from my pack-a-day addiction. So, what’s with the butts in the picture?

        Colin.

  5. Cody Deitz says:

    Fair enough. A little contention is a healthy thing in my opinion.

    I still sing the praises of pipe smoking whenever I get the opportunity.
    The header image was chosen due to its photographic excellence and not necessarily the presence of the cigarettes. If I had found a photo with a pipe I had liked as much, that’s what would be up.

    I’m thrilled to hear you’ve quit smoking cigarettes. As much as I think one should be able to smoke whatever they want, I’m happy to hear you’ve made a healthier choice; at least one without all the chemicals.

    Cheers,
    Cody

Leave a Reply

