Do I Make You Nervous?

If you keep in touch with political news, you may have heard that NPR has fired one of their veteran analysts, Juan Williams.  Williams was on that fantastic program The O’Reilly Factor and he was asked about O’Reilly’s recent appearance on The View.  You can see that clip of O’Reilly here.  Willaims pretty much said that O’Reilly had been justified in his comments and went on to say this:

“I mean, look, Bill, I’m not a bigot. You know the kind of books I’ve written about the civil rights movement in this country. But when I get on the plane, I got to tell you, if I see people who are in Muslim garb and I think, you know, they are identifying themselves first and foremost as Muslims, I get worried. I get nervous.” -As quoted from the Huff Post

It saddens me that Williams was given an excellent opportunity to support clear, rational thinking, understanding, and love and he completely dropped the ball.  I understand it’s usually good policy to agree with the host of the show you’re on, but this is one of those instances where it was a disheartening mistake.

Williams went on to say that he was not talking about Muslims in general.  But what did he mean then?  Would he have been nervous about seeing a traditionally dressed Hasidic Jew?  That seems doubtful.  It’s just frustrating to see people with the following and audience to make a difference and then fudge it up, and on natioanl television.  We need more lovingkindness. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do I Make You Nervous?

  1. thinkASAP says:

    He’s Hispanic, right? Does he support AB1070? Because anyone could immediately think he was an illegal immigrant and report him under his line of thinking.

    • Cody Deitz says:

      I’m actually not sure. You should look into it. I’ve read some of his articles before and I was never really turned off by him. I was sad to see this comment most definitely.

Leave a Reply

