Pilot

A new blog is always an exciting thing to get going, a fresh birthing of an intellectual seedling.  This isn’t my first blog.  I’ve been through a few now on various servers but this particular medium seems to really be far-reaching, which I think is a really positive thing in a culture so saturated in mindless entertainment.

In this blog I’ll be discussing books, cultural phenomenon, politics, and get into some talk on my hobbies such as cars, writing, and pipe smoking.

I suppose a little about myself wouldn’t hurt, this being my first post on this blog.  I’m a college student in southern California, studying to attain a Bachelor’s degree in English so I can teach at the highschool and eventually university level.  I’ve always been a reader, and the experiences I’ve had in certain classes at my local community college have dramatically opened my eyes to the expansive world of literature and literary criticism.  The realm of quality literature is far more pervasive than one might think, and that notion fuels my passion.  I tend to dislike politicians in general but I believe them to be a necessary evil in a country as large and diverse as ours.  When it comes to politics, people’s first question is almost always which side of the table I side with.  I’ll let my blog posts and ideas speak for themselves on that matter.  As far as my hobbies go, I’m a neophyte yet eager pipe smoker.  I love pipes, tobaccos, coffee, and beer, and how all those things collide.

There will hopefully be many posts to come.  Cheers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

